top of page

Working The Town Hall


Hello there! I'm Chino. Old Man Walle and Mr. Mary asked me to take a turn and write a blog for Los Pistoleros Resist. Never really done this before. First, I live in Fort Collins. I'm a whole lot younger than those old men, they wanted a younger prospective. I am passionate about my politics. I'm probably a little more left then the others on the blog. I was a Bernie Bro. I quickly went with Hillary along with the nomination. If you've see my post on Facebook, you'll see I use Spanish sometimes. I may start a blog with “Listen up Pendejo.” But I use it to get my point across. I don't refer to the President by his name, it's the Orange Pendejo. Remember I was a Bernie Bro. So, let's get started!

I didn't know what to write about. While Tom Cotton is the Senator from Arkansas, It was somewhat enjoyable. I think the Washington Post only carried the last 20 minutes, I saw Occupy Democrats carried the whole thing. When asked when he would start help us take back some power from the president. He answered that we needed to take back power for unelected officials. Believe he meant from the federal agencies, that issue health and environmental codes. Also, believe he was also taking a shot at the judicial branch. Yes, people that protect us. The crowd wasn't happy either answer any more than I was. He was asked about the president’s power, not the agencies that protect us, or the judicial system that make us do everything legally.

First of all, I think the crowd wanted to have him on their side. So, I don't think they were bussed in from California. That said they did not go easy on him. The ACA was big with the audience. Many personal stories. If we as people that live all over the U.S. keep hammering the ACA at every town hall meeting. The other point that is big is immigration. One women told us that her husband was a green card holder and they are worried about a bill Cotton wrote. His answer I can't judge since I'm not familiar with that bill. The important thing in that exchange was the true fear she had. Like health care it's an emotional topic. She was fantastic because she was honest. Something Mr. Cotton didn't have on his side.

My favorite part when a little boy named Toby asked why did the president want to build a wall to keep out Mexicans. Toby went on to say he likes Mexicans. He also asked why spends all that money on the wall. Why not save PBS instead? Once again, we have honesty and true emotion. That is our true weapon. We must be honest and emotional. And we can't just accept the spin that they give us. Let's hold them responsible, let them know we can and will vote them out.

The old man of our blog told me about the emotional meeting he went to with Mr. Mary and Mrs. Mary. There was a man they had never seen before. As usual Old Man Walle and Mr. Mary were early, that's what old guys do I'm told. The man appeared to be conservative, but when the meeting began he was the loudest and maddest person in the room. Someone called the police. He was mad but he never left his chair. Just like the rest of us, he was worried about the ACA. He is diabetic and need extra medical care. He had started a new business in the past year. All he wanted was enough information so he could make some decisions how to proceed. But the Repeal and Replace crowd has no idea either. The mans emotion and anger set the tone meeting. The Denham reps were taking all the note. Mr. Denham just must produce.

Back to the Cotton town hall now. Cotton lead the audience in the pledge of allegiance. A nod to our patriotic leanings. When they got to the “indivisible”, the audience put an emphasis on it. So I can assume the have a large chapter of Indivisible Americans.

One lady wanted to know what Cotton would do to make the Orange Pendejo show his taxes. After all our last President showed his birth certificate. The audience loved it! Not so much Cotton’s reply which was nothing. Can't let these guys get away with this.

On a last note, Old Man Walle wanted to remind you that they are going to Denham home for a peaceful hour and a half. Link here.

Hey that's it for now. I hope you enjoyed this. I did, but it’s a bit of work! Funny how inspiration came to me. And now one of the authors of the Indivisible guide just popped up on Rachael! Must be an omen!

Let me know what you think!

pistoleros@yahoo.com

chinoverga11@yahoo.com

Twitter @VergaChino

Facebook Chino Verga

          Guadalupe Villarreal
Who's Behind The Blog
bottom of page