top of page

Small Meetings


I was already working on a blog about the ACA, when I got an Email from Jeff Denham's office. He wanted to set a meeting with me. Ok that was a bit of a surprise. Found out that at least one other person received the same invitation. I was told that I could bring 7 guests. First one was easy one, my cousin Robert. The other half of Los Pistoleros. His wife Mary is also going, she is quite passionate about politics! I asked a few friends from the Stanislaus Resistance group. Didn't ask if I could use their names, so I'm not.

We have a solid 4, and a maybe, depending on the time. You see we have a meeting set, but don't know about the time yet. We have been asked to have a list of 3 subjects we are interested in discussing. I know we want to discuss the ACA, pressure on that point seems to be working, so why let off the gas now? I'm thinking Immigration too. May need to do more study to get the appropriate points we want to touch on this. This also includes the building of that ridiculous wall.

Once we get the group selected, if possible I'd like to have a meeting to set up a strategy and decide on the topics we want addressed. We only have 20 minutes to make a case for our concerns. Denham is good in manipulating his agenda, so we must steer the meeting to our concerns. I'd like the group to speak with passion, even a little anger. But we also must respect the man and the office he holds. We need to make a positive impression.

Also, we are asking if you have questions or statements to make. Email them to us at pistoleros@yahoo.com. We will pass them on to him. We may not have time to discuss any of them, but I'd like him to know there are many that are with us. We will also press that there is still need for a true town hall meeting.

I have no idea why I was chosen for this meeting. Maybe because we have been making the Mobile Office Hours, or maybe just a luck of the draw. But I do take this serious and plan to present the best case for our agenda. What I've been seeing is that the pressure citizens are putting on their congressman is working.

One last subject we may want to touch on, is why did Denham vote against Donald Trump having to show his taxes. We are his employers, we should know how he handle his business and who he does business with. If I apply for a home loan, the bank wants to see my tax return. When I was farming, every year I applied for an operating loan, it tax returns please. To work in a nursing home, you have to pass a check by the FBI. Yes, for the privilege of wiping someone's butt, the FBI checks you out. I'm glad they do. Just wish that the highest office in the land required it too.

Since I wrote this, my group is full. We will be ready. These small groups are a new tactic. They keep us at a manageable size, and he has met with constituents. There are no videos of people angry with him. So, we must do a good job with our meetings with him. Stress the importance of a real town hall meeting.

Let me know what you think.

pistoleros@yahoo.com


          Guadalupe Villarreal
Who's Behind The Blog
bottom of page